Looking For A Needle In A Haystack

web-CV-getty-c

I recently read a rather clever article on the Guardian online written by Erica Buist called ‘Telling a young person to ‘Just get a job’ is like going to the Sahara and yelling ‘Just rain!’ and since reading it I haven’t been able to stop thinking about how accurate it really was and it has actually inspired me to write this post so let’s get started!

Todays post is going to be about something very close to my heart and something that is actually going on in my life at the moment that I felt obliged to share with you all. I am of course talking about the dreaded ‘have you found a job yet?’ situation that seems to be on everyones lips..well especially in my family it does. After going through school as a bit of a goody two shoes, struggling through art college and putting my all into my graphics degree, I really hoped at the end of it there would be a job to relieve some of the stress that has been harbouring throughout my educational life. But alas, it seems to have added even more in the fact that employers don’t seem to be interested in qualifications or how much blood, sweat and tears you put into getting those grades, they want you to of experienced working within your chosen industry and to already have the exact skills they desire, but how is that possibly when we’ve been all so busy chasing our tails to get a respectable grade that no one seems to notice.

I myself have been applying to jobs everyday since leaving university and have only ever come close once to landing a job that I think would of given me a sense of relief that all that hard work really was worth it. In the end after getting through to the final round of said interview, I was turned down for someone with more ‘experience’. Although I’m only 22 I already feel as though I am wasting time with part time jobs that aren’t really what I want to do, more like what I have to do to in order to keep my bank balance from teetering into my overdraft.

I apologise for this post sounding like a rant but it has been on my mind rather a lot lately and I wanted to know how you all felt about the situation we are in too. Don’t get me wrong I wouldn’t change my choice to go to university for the world as I learnt some invaluable lessons outside of my educational curriculum,  I just wish someone would have warned us that getting a job would be like looking for a needle in a very large haystack.

Is anyone else having trouble landing a job? What would your advice be?

Leave a Reply

