Audiobook // Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe

3rd-gen-ipod-nano-800x600

I haven’t always been a bookworm but during my placement last year I found myself scouring the amazon book section quite frequently to find something to read whilst relaxing on a night time. Since reading through the whole ‘I heart‘ series by Lindsey Kelk I’ve really gotten into the light hearted girly books that are so easy to read whenever you have a spare minute. Don’t get me wrong I do love a good thriller too, but for a scaredy cat like myself, reading those horrors before bed really does give me the creeps! My love of books however has started to make a hole in my bank balance, so I have started to look for alternative options, one of these being audiobooks. I remember listening to audiobooks of mr men and so on when I was very little on an old school tape player (90’s kid!), but now they are a little more modern and available on a multitude of devices including ipods, iPads and even your mobile phone! So theres no getting away from it!

I have to travel quite a lot on the train when I go back home and when visiting my boyfriend so I do like to keep myself occupied on these long trips either with a magazine or a book. A magazine however can only be read once really otherwise you already know what is talked about and it gets a little boring, besides the size of some of them are huge so they weigh your bag down something terrible if you can’t get your mitts on a miniature size. My ipod however is always in my bag,so  (when I actually remember to charge it) I love to listen to my favourite tunes whilst on the go.  I own one of the very first ipods which is one of the huge brick like things but I love it as I’ve had it for 6 years and it has shown no signs of slowing down and would be very difficult to break as it is so large.

So this time before a trip I had a quick snoop to see what sort of audiobooks itunes had to offer as I had a bit of giftcard money left on there from christmas and to my surprise they had loads to choose from! You can look through different genres and my first port of call was the romance section.. nothing too mushy or raunchy (think fifty shades of grey was a bit far), but just something light hearted and fun. I quickly found ‘Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe‘ and after reading a few reviews of it online I decided to purchase it. It was around £4 and it was downloaded instantly which meant I could then transfer it to my ipod totally fuss free.

I have to say I now love it, the book was in total over 6 hours long which was way more than my journey both there and back so I was kept fully entertained and also it meant I didn’t have to fork out for two magazines or carry any extra luggage. I think that once I have finished this one I will definitely be purchasing another one, as they are great for car trips, train trips, holidays or even listening to just before bedtime to wind down with.

Have you ever tried an audiobook? Which books would you recommend?

4 thoughts on “Audiobook // Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe

  1. I red that book! I loved it! Have you red the sequel? Christmas at the cupcake cafe?? I can’t find it anywhere as it was sold out on xmas and now they only have hard covers 🙂 I loved the Littlest chocolate shop in paris. I’m sure you’ll love it too 🙂 xoxo

    Like

    1. Oh I didn’t know there was a sequel! I’ll have to have a look into that thank you 🙂 Have you read the I heart series? They are really good books too! xx

      Like

      1. No I haven’t! I’ll have a look into that! I’m reading a lot these days! I’ve finished the Great Gatsby and I’m now reading pulitzer winner: Middlesex 🙂

        Like

      2. I think there’s about 5 in the series and they’re really nice reads so I’d have a look into those 🙂 Oo I will have to check those out too thank you for the recommendations!

        Like

Leave a Reply

