Real Techniques Core Collection + Max factor 3 in 1 Foundation Review

Hello and a very belated happy new year to all of you! I had to give the blogging a bit of a rest recently as not only have my family and I been extremely busy over the festive period but I have also had university work to finish, and still am up to my eyeballs in! But, as one of my new years resolutions was to pay more attention to my blog, I thought that I would do a bit of a review today for you all about 2 products which I am very much loving at the moment, so here it goes!

Real Techniques1

For christmas I had asked for the Real Techniques Core collection brush set, so I was delighted when I unwrapped the first present in my stocking for it to be those marvellous little brushes (Thanks mum!). I decided to test them out asap and so christmas day they were very quickly opened and placed on my dressing table ready for when I was going to be applying my make-up later on in the day.

My foundation then was the Dream Matte Mousse by Maybelline  so it wasn’t the best of product to be testing with these brushes but I gave it a go anyway out of sheer excitement. I put the mousse onto my face where I most need it, which can result in me looking as though I am about to join the marines complete with war paint, but then I used the buffing brush to buff the foundation into my skin and I was amazed at the results.

First of all the brushes are incredibly smooth in the first place but when they are on the skin they don’t feel harsh at all, instead they glide over the skin without tugging or pulling which some other brushes can do. I was also amazed at how differently the foundation was just because of using a different brush. Normally it is quite heavy and I hate the fact that you could always tell I was wearing foundation but with the help of the buffing brush the foundation seemed to become almost second skin like, but still had very good coverage. After using this brush I don’t think I’d go back to any other foundation brush, and I have tried quite a few!

Max-Factor-3-in-1-Foundation-promo

The second product that I have wanted to try for a good while but the price tag always scared me a little is the 3 in 1 Max Factory Face Finity All Day Flawless foundation, (which is quite a mouthful to even type let alone say!). I had read up on some reviews before deciding to purchase this foundation and as ever there were some rave reviews and other people weren’t so pleased, but I thought that I would give it a go anyway and I’m so glad I did!

As I have combination skin I find buying foundation to be a bit of a struggle because you have so many things to consider, for instance I look for a mattifying product for the oilyness but also a radiance boost for those dry / normal patches of skin so it’s a challenge before you even enter the store without having to colour match to your skin tone also! Luckily I had someone with me whilst I was shopping so that they could verify if the colour was right for my skin tone and after a few minutes of uming and ahing I decided to go for it, and finally picked the colour Warm Almond.

The next day I decided to try my new and exciting foundation for the first time before I was going to wear it for new years eve so that I could test out any mishaps and make sure the colour didn’t make me look like an umpa lumpa when applied all over my face. I applied my moisturiser before as usual and then whipped out my new favourite tool.. the buffing brush and set to work. I could tell instantly that the brush worked even better with a foundation rather than a mousse and again the foundation went on like a dream, leaving my skin feeling well covered but not too heavy.

All in all I think for the moment I have found a winning combination of tool and product for my skin and it’s about time too! I would definitely recommend either product or both together if you want to really spoil yourself rotten. I don’t really do many make – up reviews but because I loved this pairing so much I thought I would share it with you all, I hope you enjoyed it and if you have tried either product I’d love to know what you thought yourself!

5 thoughts on “Real Techniques Core Collection + Max factor 3 in 1 Foundation Review

Leave a Reply

