Laura Laine

Today’s post is all about fashion illustration which I haven’t really touched on at Red Riot but it is a huge passion of mine. Unfortunately my people drawing skills go about as far as a stick man so I couldn’t ever create something as beautiful as these images but I do love to look at a lot of illustration work. I think especially fashion illustration always seems quite dark to me and mysterious which I find very interesting. I would love to feature some more of it here on my blog so if you like this post then please let me know b y giving it a like and you will see a lot more posts dedicated to this type of subject!
Now enough of that mumbo jumbo onto the very talented designer that I am featuring today – Laura Laine. Β Laura is a Helsinki based illustrator. Β She has studied fashion design at University of Art and Design Helsinki, but during her studies focused on fashion illustration. After completing her studies she has been working full-time as a freelance illustrator and is also teaching fashion illustration at the university.
Not only does she have some incredible portfolio work on her website but it has been recognised by some of the biggest fashion and design people around, and with her ever growing client base I’m sure she her work will be seen pretty much everywhere soon! Her recent clients include Vogue Nippon, GAP, I.T. store, Elle, Zara, Telegraph, Rad Hourani, The New York Times T magazine, Tommy Hilfiger, Muse magazine, The Guardian, I.T. Post magazine, Iben Hoej, and Daniel Palillo. She has also exhibited in San Francisco and Los Angeles.
So all thats left to say really is that I am a huge fan and I hope you are too! If anyone has any other fashion illustrators they think I should have a look at then i’d love to hear them!
7 thoughts on “Laura Laine

  1. OMG!! I love LAURA LAINE!! πŸ˜€ I am glad you love fashion illustration and I am over the moon that we both share the same creative passion. Her work is excellent and super-spiffing-tastic-fantastic [haha] and what I love most is the detail. Especially what is involved within the hair. You can pick out all the shape, movement, depth and shine within every drawn strand of hair. WOW! Love it all, and I hope you post some more!! πŸ˜€ Cannot wait. Thank you. x

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post! I’ve always been interested in fashion illustration so I thought it would be well received on here! I can’t believe the amount of detail involved, like you say the way she creates the hair is just incredible! Thank you for following, I will be sure to put up some more fashion illustration up soon! x

      Like

      1. You are very much welcome! The detail in the hair and definitely the proportions overall have a never-ending lure to intrigue oneself to become immersed within fashion illustration! It is truly amazing. I am following your blog so I will be updated for when you post some new content. Mine is stitchmode.wordpress.com if you would like to browse and follow. πŸ™‚ Thank you. x

        Like

  2. I love fashion illustration as well! These are great! I have a passion for fashion illustration books as well. I really like a cute and glamorous style. I’m an illustrator myself coff cofff ..I’ll leave you the link to my portfolio in case you wanna take a look: http://www.behance.net/saragancho ( They are a bit old..the more recents ones are in the mixed media file).

    Like

    1. Thats great that you love it too, I think its such an interesting design trait! I only wish I could create something as good! I have had a look at your work, they’re really good too!

      Like

      1. Thanks dear! I appreciate every comment..Unfortunately I haven’t had much time to dedicate to fashion illustration.. Well you can give it a go..it just needs practice..try some tutorials on youtube, or just get hands of drawing and experimenting with what you like.

        Like

Leave a Reply

