Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser Review

I have always thought that a great skin care routine is vital to creating the best foundation for your make up to be applied onto, but it can also be one of the trickiest things to work out. There are so many brands out there at the moment offering perfect and flawless skin that it can be quite problematic to know exactly what would work for you and most of all be right for your skin type. I have combination skin which is normal to oily, which I have learnt over time can be a bit of a disaster if I don’t apply the right sort of lotions and potions before applying my make up.

I have to admit it has taken me a while to get into the stride of a constant skin care routine as before (early teens) I was just a bit lazy and thought that it would look after itself but now I am determined to make sure I help my skin look its best. i have however had the 3 words Cleanse, Tone, Moisturise drilled into me from a very early age, I just didn’t really understand it before but now I am well aware of the great effects that these 3 words can mean for you and your skin.

After reading countless amounts of other beauty blogs just recently, I have noticed that one name in particular kept cropping up literally everywhere and I am sure you are all aware of it.. Liz Earle. I wasn’t aware of this name (shock horror, yes I must of been living under a rock) until now but it is firmly lodged into my head now and after several read reviews later I decided to take the plunge and purchase the infamous Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser and the Instant Boost Skin Tonic (this will be reviewed in another post) and I have to say I was SO excited for the arrival of this parcel.

I decided that I was going to review the products but only after a good while of using them as otherwise you don’t really get to see the full effects of a product unless you have been using it for a while and seeing as this is my first proper review, I wanted to make it a good one. I hadn’t ever used a hot cloth cleanser before as I usually use a cream and the little circular cotton pads so this was a brand new experience for me. I decided in order to get a good review then I would use the product for 3 weeks religiously morning and night, which amazingly I managed to stick to.

The Product –  This multi award winning hot cloth cleanser is a plant based cleanser which has a two-phase action, phase one is the cleansing. Free from mineral oil, it has a rich and creamy texture and swiftly removes all traces of face and eye make up, even stubborn mascara. Phase two is the polishing. Polish off the cream using the pure muslin cloth to gently dislodge dead skin cells and help reveal clean, soft and radiant skin. (Suitable for all skin types)

There are a range of different sizes from 200ml + starter kit – £25.50 , 100ml + starter kit – £14.25 to the smallest size 50ml + 1 muslin cloth – £5.50.

The Technique – I used one pump both morning and night as I have quite sensitive skin so I didn’t want to overload it. Once I massaged the cream into my face making sure that everywhere was covered and it had sunken into my skin, I then ran the muslin cloth under hand hot water and in circular motions removed the rest of the product from my face.

The muslin cloth is soft but you can tell that it is also buffing and exfoliating your skin gently whilst you use it which I thought was great. After I felt as though my skin was clean, I then splashed some cold water over my face to close my pores, (this was quite refreshing especially in the mornings), I then patted my face dry with a clean towel and tah da… thats all there is too it. I have heard that some people double cleanse especially when they have been wearing heavy make up but I remove my make up before I cleanse so I haven’t yet tried this.

The Verdict – After the first wash I was pretty much sold with this product, my skin felt amazingly soft and felt as though it was squeaky clean which it hadn’t felt like in a good while, I also noticed that it looked much brighter and refreshed.

This carried on for the first few days and I was amazed until I had a huge breakout under my skin especially around my cheeks and T zone area, which I was disappointed about but I think it was my skins way of getting rid of off the bad stuff that had been building up for a while but I was hesitant to use the cleanser again afterwards as I was worried that it would make it even worse. This was a little worrying as before I hardly ever get spots, only the occasional one but never a cluster together.

I decided to carry on using the product both morning and night and after the 3 weeks I have had a huge improvement definitely with the colour of my skin as before I had red patches and now that it is completely gone. I still do get breakouts from using it but I have now cut down to just using it at night and using a much lighter cleanser in the day time to maybe stop it from clogging my pores.

I don’t think that I would buy this product again which I am really quite sad about because I had heard such wonderful things about it and whilst it has transformed the feel of my skin, I can’t use a product that makes me breakout because that is one of the main factors that a product should avoid doing. I am really pleased that I tried it though but it just didn’t work for my skin.

I am still on the hunt for a great cleanser so if anyone has any suggestions then it would be great to hear. I am still trying to find my perfect skin care routine but isn’t everyone! I am tempted to try the No7 hot cloth cleanser so if any of you have tried this then I would love to know what you thought.

7 thoughts on “Liz Earle Hot Cloth Cleanser Review

  1. Im glad someone else has the same view on this product as me. I have also very sensitive skin but more prone to spots and do take acne treatment. However I just thought the overall scent of the product was too strong and I believe that is why I broke out after just a week of use like yourself. I think its great for someone with already near perfect skin who only suffers from occasioanl spots and doesn’t have sensitive skin.
    Although I dont like this I did prefer the No7 one but my favourite cleanser thats just a wash on wash off but not harsh is the Avene gentle gel cleanser. Very soft on the skin and gets all my make-up off and I think I wear quite abit lol x

    Like

    1. Hi Ellena, I totally agree I think that for people with nearly perfect skin already it must work wonders for them and I was really disappointed. What with the price tag and having half a bottle still left I’m a bit unsure if I should keep on using it or not?
      I think I might have a look at both the No7 and the Avene that you have said about because they both sound good. I like the No7 because its not as pricey and you can get it from most boots stores. Thanks for the comment 🙂 x

      Like

  2. Have you tried the Elemis Melting Gel Cleanser? It’s a beautiful formula- a thick gel that turns into an oily-milk as you massage it into the skin. The only downside is that it can leave the skin feeling greasy and I find a toner is a must with it.
    I had the same reaction to the Liz Earle C&P- I was really disappointed as after hearing so many fabulous reviews I kind of convinced myself that it was the product for me! Sad times

    Like

    1. Hi, no I haven’t tried the Elemis cleanser but it sounds as though it would be a good product. Do you think that it would work with my slightly oily skin though seeing as it leaves a greasy residue?
      I was really disappointed too about Liz Earle, after paying quite a bit for the 100ml tube I now have half a bottle still left and not sure quite what to do with it. I thought it was going to be a miracle product but I suppose some products aren’t for everyone! Thank you for your comment 🙂

      Like

      1. I have oily skin, acne prone but also very sensitive and it works ok for me. At times of “high grease”, I only use it once a day OR I don’t bother with a moisturiser. if you have an Elemis concession near you, I’m sure they’d give you a sample 🙂
        I started buying all of my beauty products from QVC a while back, mainly because if I don’t like a product there is a 30 day returns period- yes, even if you’ve used it. I go on about QVC all the time, I think people actually get a bit sick of it, but I never waste money on beauty these days coz if it just doesn’t do it for me, I just send it back!!

        Like

  3. Thats a great idea! I haven’t ever thought about looking on QVC but I have just visited your blog and noticed some of the tips that you had about buying from there. It is definitely a plus that you can send a product back because it is a little annoying when you don’t get on with a product. I shall check out the Elemis range and will have to let you know how I get on with it. Thank you for the help it is very much appreciated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

