Child’s Own Studio

I would like to apologize for the lack of posts this week, but I have been enjoying the english sun too much to be indoors at my computer. I have also been taking some much needed time out for myself so that I can come back fresh with some great new posts for you all as some rather exciting news has just happened.

I always keep up to date with my page views as I like to see what you all like and what you aren’t so fussed about, but I was delighted when I signed in today to realise Red Riot has reached over 3,000 views, so thank you very much to everyone who takes the time to read my blog, it really does mean the world to me.

Todays post is a bit of a blast from the past for me as it reminds me of a time where a strip of blue at the top of the page was the sky and stick men were about as close to a human as I could achieve, of course I am talking about drawing pictures! I know that from a very early age I used to love drawing and although looking back at them now they don’t look like great pieces of art work, at the time I thought they were pretty good! So when I came across an article on a woman who transforms childrens drawings into toys, I was quite fascinated!

Child’s Own Studio started with a simple idea: to make a recognizable comfort toy for a 4 year-old boy based on his drawing.  It was an idea that launched creator Wendy Tsao’s home-based craft business. Since then, she has custom made a few hundred soft toys based on children’s drawings, each one as unique as the child who drew it.

I think this is just an incredible idea, as essentially all the toys out there today are originally start off as one persons idea or drawing, but I think its really amazing that Wendy takes the drawings of children and turns them into reality for them to then keep forever.

Child’s Own Studio also has a blog where Wendy updates all of the latest creatures she has made along with their original drawings, from bunnies to self-portraits to mermaids to monsters and more, Child’s Own Studio has custom made hundreds of personal soft toys from children’s drawings and its amazing!

This is my favourite! (above)

This is a great business and I can’t think of anything more rewarding that making a child’s dreams come to life, the only thing I have left to say is I wish Wendy’s business was around when I was a child so I could have my own toy designed, how cool!

Leave a Reply

