Kirsty Mitchell – Wonderland

Todays post is a rather extraordinary one and it is also a first for Red Riot as I have not blogged about a photographer before but todays photography caught my eye and is definatley going to set a very high standard for the rest to follow.

I have always admired someone who can take photographs as I struggle with the simplest of settings for a product shoot but as soon as I saw ‘Wonderland’ by Kirsty Mitchell I was just blown away. Everything from the scenes, the clothing, the make up, models and story behind it are just incredible and i’m quite sure you will all feel the same after seeing the photographs.

One of my favourite childhood films is Alice in Wonderland and for my college final major project I produced a whimsical painting to illustrate the different scenes in the film but that looks rather insignificant when you look at this gallery of photographs.

The inspiration behind Kirsty’s photography was a lot deeper than just enjoying the film Alice in Wonderland, these photographs have been taken 3 years to create and have been brought to life when Kirsty unfortunately lost her mother to brain cancer in 2008. Kirsty has been quoted saying that ‘Real life became a difficult place to deal with, and I found myself retreating further into an alternative existence through the portal of my camera,’ said the artist.

‘This escapism grew into the concept of creating an unexplained storybook without words, dedicated to her [my mother], that would echo the fragments of the fairytales she read to me constantly as a child.’

Kirsty who had a background in fashion also collaborated with hair and make up artist Elbie Van Eeden and all the props and costumes were created on a very small budget and were shot in the woods in Surrey near Kirsty’s home.

Whilst creating these dramatic scenes Kirsty also created a diary so that she could write down everything that she wanted to show in the photography and everything she was feeling during the process. This very personal diary could become a book in the future to accompany the photographs so that people can have a real insight into the beginning and the end of the project. I think this would be quite a hard read as you would feel how devastated she was to have lost her mother but also you would gain the exact story behind every photograph and exactly what she had in mind when she created them.

Everytime I look at these photographs I just think wow because they are just so amazing and I wish I could capture something this good through a camera lens, but I will leave that to the professionals I think! These are just a few from the Wonderland gallery but you can witness all of them on her website  and there are also some links on how the props and costumes were created and behind the scenes of the whole shoot.

2 thoughts on “Kirsty Mitchell – Wonderland

Leave a Reply

